Test version
BRICS information portal



Tuesday, August 15, 2017

SA’s Representatives in Brics New Development Bank are Now all From Treasury

The Brics New Development Bank (NDB) has confirmed that Treasury director-general Dondo Mogajane has been appointed as the new director representing SA.

This follows the expiry of former Reserve Bank governor Tito Mboweni’s two-year term as SA’s director at the NDB on July 2.

Treasury said in a statement that the nomination of Mogajane by Finance Minister Malusi Gigaba and his subsequent appointment "will ensure that no additional costs are incurred further by government in remunerating an appointment from outside of public service while also enhancing strategic alignment and collaboration between the government of SA and the bank".

The NDB has also confirmed that Deputy Finance Minister Sfiso Buthelezi will serve as the alternate governor of the NDB for SA.

Treasury deputy director-general for economic policy Monale Ratsoma, in his capacity as acting deputy director-general for international and regional economic policy, will continue to serve as alternate director of the NDB for SA.

"These appointments are also in line with the practice from the other founding members of the bank, whose representatives are from their countries’ ministries of finance and treasury departments," Treasury said.

Source: Business Day

Report a spelling error

If you think there is a mistake in the text, you can send it to the editorial department of the portal.
Selected text is too large, select smaller text.